» Criminal Defense

Minor in Possession (MIP) Laws and Penalties

Minor in Possession (MIP) Laws and Penalties

Washington state’s Minor in Possession (MIP) law makes it illegal for anyone under the age of 21 to possess, consume, or otherwise acquire alcohol. Violation of Washington state’s MIP law is a gross misdemeanor, punishable by a fine of up to $5,0… Read More
Read More
Categories: Criminal Defense
Protestors arrested for disorderly conduct.

Disorderly Conduct in Washington State

Disorderly conduct is one of the most common criminal charges in Washington state. It is a misdemeanor offense and, compared to other crimes, many people view it as a relatively minor offense. However, a conviction carries a sentence of up to 90 days… Read More
Read More
Categories: Criminal Defense
Armed resident ready to use of force in self-defense to protect themselves against robber

What is Lawful Use of Force in Self Defense?

Under Washington state law, a person can lawfully use force to defend themselves, to defend others, and to defend their property. But for the use of force to be lawful, the person claiming self-defense cannot use more force than is necessary, and the… Read More
Read More
Categories: Criminal Defense
Harassment and Stalking

Harassment and Stalking in Washington State

Harassment and stalking are ongoing problems in the Pacific Northwest. These allegations often come up because of a misunderstanding, as an outgrowth of bullying, or when online interactions become personal. If you are facing allegations of stalking… Read More
Read More
Categories: Criminal Defense